Can.I.Rock.it?

Picknicking in the Park

In I am... on June 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm

When I first saw Christopher Kane’s gingham dresses, I knew I wanted one in every colour. Considering  that the price tag on one of these babies starts at around £1,400, I would ordinarily be keeping my eye out for a good high street alternative by now but not with this dress. It’s not the gingham print alone that makes it all so alluring.

Kane’s flawless cuts could never be matched on the high street and quite frankly, if I can’t get this print in a pretty sheer silk, I’m not interested (yes, thank you we’ve seen the New Look alternative in the fashion weeklies. No thanks). So if you are lucky enough to nab one of these beautiful Kane creations this season, begin to imagine all the ways you could accessorize it and start digging out the gingham picnic matt. I’m absolutely pulling your leg. A straw market bag, white sneaker pumps and 50s throwbacks will be all you need to make your appearance at a summery Pimm’s party in the park. Maybe I’m going overboard with the picnic hamper?
Christopher Kane Gingham dress, £1476 at mytheresa.com; Superga pumps, £40; Lavendar fisheye camera, £45 at Urban outfitters; Candy flowers straw bag, £28; Dotty Melamine beakers, £10 at Cath Kidston; Blyton Retro Picnic hamper, £85 at Heal’s.

Leave a Reply

