Can.I.Rock.it?

Reading “Kill Your Friends” by John Nivens

In I am... on June 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm

You’ve got to read this book, I pissed myself laughing.” When my no-nonsense drinking buddy ChelseaAntique tells me I’ve got to do something I usually raise an eyebrow of interest and have a quick google. He does have a rather wicked sense of humour and with rumours on the net that Robert Pattinson (Twilight) was to play the lead role in a planned film adaptation, I decided I should pick up a copy of John Niven’s Kill Your Friends.

Is it laugh out loud funny? Embarassingly, yes. Based on the british music industry in the late 90s, the story is narrated by Steven Stelfox, an A&R guy who has lost all his integrity for signing any kind of real  musical talent. As he spirals further  and further out of control, Nivens piles enough political incorrectness into our laps to make us seriously doubt whether we should really be laughing with him. Enough sex, drugs and rock’n’roll to put Amy Winehouse to shame, a gob-smacking backstage pass into the wheelings and dealings of the 90s music industry, I raced through this book. This is not just for Simon Cowell fans, involved in the music industry or not, you can’t find a dirtier, sexier and funnier read for bookshelves around.

Leave a Reply

