Can.I.Rock.it?

Lauryn Hill Returning to Music?

In Uncategorized on June 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm

A Glimmer of Hope


The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill was a CD that got so badly scratched from overuse that I probably had to buy it again about three or four times. What a voice. When she disappeared off the radar following her last release with MTV unplugged, I waited and waited for news of her return. Eight years later, it’s possible she’s back. In a rare interview she gave recently with NPR Music, Hill spoke about the reasons for her long absence and hinted at what could be a most awesome comeback.

On why she left…

“There were a number of different reasons,” she says, “…as musicians and artists, it’s important we have an environment — and I guess when I say environment, I really mean the [music] industry, that really nurtures these gifts…And it’s important that people be given the time that they need to go through, to grow, so that the consciousness level of the general public is properly affected.  Oftentimes, I think people are forced to make decisions prematurely. And then that sound radiates.”

Basically she’s saying didn’t want to churn out a load of rubbish if she wasn’t ready and yield to the pressure that the industry puts upon it’s artists to be creative quickly– ultimately ruining them and over exposing them in the process.

On her plans for music now…

“I’m trying to open up my range and really sing more. With The Fugees initially, and even with Miseducation, it was very hip-hop — always singing over beats. I don’t think people have really heard me sing out. So if I do record again, perhaps it will have an expanded context. Where people can hear a bit more.”

Sounds promising to me! Please do record again Lauryn… our iPods have missed you.

Like this at Facebook!
Leave a Reply

