Can.I.Rock.it?

Fashion Illustration: It’s a Girl Thing

In I spied... on July 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Illustration by Steven Broadway

I’ve always had a thing for fashion illustration and its possible that I find it more aesthetically pleasing than most art.

Fitting in somewhere between pop art and cartoons, I think it’s flirty, slightly abstract and easy on the eye. I came across these two artists with very different styles, one is very simplistic but extremely effective in telling us about the life of the girls she draws and the other is extremely intricate, focusing on hair and garment detailing. The first is Parisian freelance illustrator and blogger, Garance Doré. If you have an interest in the style of French women, you will love her blog [images follow and a link to the blog can found at the end of the post].

Laura Laine has had her illustrations published in The New Yorker, Elle Europe and used in fashion campaigns for Zara and H&M– she is very talented and her work is both dreamlike and mesmerizing.

***

In terms of displaying fashion illustration in your living room as art however, it’s a tricky thing not to have it end up looking too 80s. Hanging any of these drawings in a clean white frame would take away the authenticity of the art form which is essentially based on very spontaneous and uncalculated sketching. We want to see the coffee mug stain, the frayed edges of the papers piled haphazardly on top of each other like a designer’s moodboard. Perhaps the best way to admire fashion illustration is to slot some sketches haphazardly around the sides of your dressing table mirror along with some other nostalgic photographs. Or bring a feminine touch to an office by pinning some of your favourite artists on your notice board– make your work environment look like something out of The Devil Wears Prada, think slightly messy but always chic!

Get Creative!

If you remember being good with the crayons in art class, take inspiration from the experts and start doodling your own fashion illustrations to display.

I’m no Picasso, but here’s some drawings I found that I did in my early teens when my aunt gave me a French fashion illustration book for Christmas. It featured an artist who depicted the lifestyle of Parisian women so charmingly. I would so love to find that book again but I cannot for the life of me remember his name. If you recognise a similarity in my drawings and you think you know who the artist is, please let me know!

Click here to visit Garance Doré’s blog

Laura Laine’s website

Leave a Reply

