Can.I.Rock.it?

Feeling the Blues

In I am... on August 11, 2010 at 5:27 am

Illustration by Laura Laine

I’ve just watched twenty-two episodes, the entire first season, nine hundred and ninety minutes of Glee. Did I break out into song while preparing myself a tuna cheesy melt in between episodes? Yes– in full vibrato. Have I been quoting the dark sarcasm that makes the show so genius on my blackberry status updates? Every half hour.

For two and a half days, I did not feel the need to hydrate, I ignored urgent voicemails from my bank citing fraudulent use of my credit card and didn’t even bat an eyelid when the fire alarm went off three times because of that annoying burning smell coming from the kitchen. There is a time in everyone’s life, when we connect to a DVD box set in a way that perhaps calls for an intervention.

I do believe I was in a bit of a funk. I hadn’t written a blog in five days and was very close to writing about the correlation between the number of Facebook profile pictures an individual has and their dating habits. Results were surprisingly inconclusive.

So what do we do when life comes to a bit of a standstill? How do we stop ourselves from stalling, feeling lethargic, unmotivated and borderline paralyzed? Firstly, there is always a reason that has caused us to slow down. It could be a fire-breathing boss at work, a cruelly unrequited crush, finances spiralling out of control– whatever the problem may be, it’s important that we identify it and stop allowing it to make us feel like we need to consume cupcakes on five separate occasions throughout the day (in my defence, the bakery only delivers in bulk). Get tough with your problem, even get a little angry at it. Then, at the risk of sounding like a life-coach, try the following steps…

  1. For an initial, instant boost, I recommend getting off the couch where you have created a mould of your buttocks and going for a walk. Create a suitable “Eye of the Tiger” playlist on your iPod and just go.
  2. When you get back to the house, clear away any evidence of the funk that you’ve been living in for the past few days– throw away pizza boxes, change the wrinkled bed sheets, de-clutter surfaces etc. You might even vacuum with some Motown playing on full blast.
  3. Arrange to meet a friend for dinner and make an effort not to look like a complete slob. Enjoy a glass of really good wine during the course of the evening (note: I said glass, not bottle) and open up about how you’ve been feeling. Guaranteed, they will provide words of encouragement, boost your ego and feed you ideas to solve the problems that have ultimately led you into this rut.

Easier said than done from my little white laptop, I know. Nevertheless, while having allowed myself to indulge in a 48 hour pity party, I have also accumulated two days worth of unused energy to propel myself into action. While I admittedly enjoyed watching the  tear inducing, pitch-perfect Broadway style numbers of Glee, I know there are men and women out there who are in need of my help at this very moment. As they stand alone, full of uncertainty before the reflection in the mirror, they ask themselves the one burning that Messy Nessy intends to answer– Can.I.Rock.It?

Remember your goals and avoid distraction.


Leave a Reply

