Can.I.Rock.it?

Showbiz News Round-Up

In I heard... on September 21, 2010 at 9:19 am

Russell Brand Confesses His Love for ‘Goddess’, Kate Moss


Currently engaged to a very different Katy– Perry that is, Russell Brand has revealed details of a brief but intense love affair with supermodel Kate Moss. My Bookie Wook 2, his latest literary offering, available to buy on the 30th September is said to be “packed with conquests including Page 3 girls, Big Brother contestants, air hostesses and even a “Satanic Slut”– all before he met his pop starlet wife-to-be. But there’s only one ‘conquest’ that everyone really wants to know about. Brand has been careful not to offend Miss Moss, saying, “I didn’t want to have a book where I attack people for having kiss and tells, then do a kiss and tell within the book….But it’s such a vital element, such a vital episode of my life, it was incredible. I thought when I was writing it, ‘I don’t want her (Moss) to be upset when she reads it’. I thought if I said something that was intimate then that would be bad. It was more like an encounter with an angel.”

He gushes on about his love for Mossy…

“I had a mad infatuation with her. I didn’t feel all cool. It didn’t feel like a conquest, it felt like I fell down a well. I was like a 12-year-old. There was a night where I went and saw the band Dirty Pretty Things and she’d gone separately with Sadie Frost. When I saw she was there I felt totally overwhelmed because she is obviously incredibly beautiful and she is Kate Moss. I’d only been famous for about half an hour. Then she sort of looked at me and smiled, then she sent me a text message a bit later, saying, ‘Do you wanna meet up?’ I said ‘Yeah, I’ll come round’. She said there were paps outside so I couldn’t come round. I said I’d dress up as a charlady or something. “I did go round – but not as a charlady. I snuck in some other way. It was mad that was. “I f***ed that up because I really, really liked her. It was never going to go anywhere but it was mad. She had an assistant – that was amazing to me, a personal assistant – the way things ran in her house. I just thought she was remarkable. The reason I didn’t speak about it ever before is out of respect for her. I was scared to speak about it now because she’s protective of herself….Other than one or two little scandals, she never talks and she deserves the privacy.”

Brand mentions several other famous names in the book, all of which he received their blessing from to include in his book– all except Kate Moss.

“Jonathan’s (Ross) read it and laughed at it. Morrissey read the chapter that contained him. The only person who hasn’t is Kate Moss and I sincerely hope she’s not offended by that. What I tried to do is some sort of portrait of a contemporary goddess. I hope it weren’t too personal because all I wanted to render was what it was like to be in the glow of such a figure, for a brief period. That’s all I was trying to get across.”

MessyNessy hopes he cleared all this with one other lady in particular– his future wife. I can’t imagine any of this would be easy reading for any bride-to-be.

****

The Lennon Legacy Continues


You have probably heard of Sean Lennon because of his family name and seen him looking awkward at occasional appearances with his mother Yoko. But Sean has been stepping up to the plate recently as a descendent of music royalty. With a new band entitled, “Ghost of a Sabertooth Tiger”, consisting of Lennon and his girlfriend, model Charlotte Kemp Muhl, the duo are co-writing an album which will feature both of their vocals with a mix of folk, pop and an old Parisian bohemian gypsy feel. Asked by The Observer newspaper whether Sean sees the similarities of performing with his lover to his mother and father as a musical duo, he says, “Yeah! I’m a man and she’s a woman, and there are not many couples that had bands. I guess it’s The Mamas & the Papas, Sonny and Cher, uh — who else? Well, Blondie was a couple. So I guess we are like other bands that are couples, in that we’re a couple.”

Friends close to Lennon say that his stunning American model girlfriend, who has appeared alongside Lennon in campaigns for Zadig & Voltaire, is part of the “first creative project that’s excited Sean in a long time.”

Their debut single, “Jardin Du Luxembourg”, was released this summer through their own record label Chimera Music. Sources say the album, yet to have a release date, is a ‘romance…a performance piece… a costume party… their creative persona, together’.

****

Celebrity Tweet Shame


Former music power duo Amy Winehouse and Mark Ronson probably won’t be making sweet music together again for a long time by the looks of Amy’s lastest tirade on her Twitter account. Following another boozy night In the early hours of the morning, after hearing her former producer say he had “created the tracks” on Wino’s Back To Black album during a television appearance on the late night show Later…with Jools Holland, Wino tweeted this:

“Ronson you’re dead to me; one album I write an[d] you take half the credit – make a career out of it? don’t think so [bruv]”

Mark Ronson has since taken the high road, quoted as saying, “I don’t know anything about it”.

Cringe-worthy tweets are not uncommon in the celebrity realm these days. Just after Winehouse tweeted her rants, another stand-up citizen, Kelly Osbourne took to her Twitter account to air out her dirty laundry. In response to Danni Minogue’s latest book, in which she revealed she felt bullied by Sharon Osbourne during her stint on the X Factor, Kelly had this to say to the Australian pop singer:

“The best thing to happen to Dannii’s career was that my mother hated her. She needs to shut her mouth and concentrate on motherhood…wa wa wa you poor middle-aged victim.”

Role Model: Kelly Tweeted this picture of her new figure

I personally think celebrities should not have access to their own accounts. Major publicist control needed here… or a muzzle.

Cry for Attention? Demi Moore, mother of three, Tweeted this picture of herself

****

Phoenix Documentary: It Was All A Hoax


It’s official. The months of speculation in the cleverly marketed build-up to I’m Still Here came to rest as the documentary’s director, Casey Affleck, finally blew the actor’s cover when he admitted to the New York Times that Phoenix gave the “performance of his career”. That infamous interview with Letterman? The late night host was in on the whole thing and greatly enjoyed playing along with the Walk the Line star. Joaquin is due to appear again on Letterman next week, this time playing himself as he prepares to re-embark on his acting career.

Do you think almost two years of acting like a lost member of society was worth it for a documentary?

I’m Still Here is in cinemas now…

****

Hendrix is Back: The Vintage Movement is Going Strong

Arguably music’s greatest pioneer in rock music is set to be resurrected again this November when four hours of never before heard music will be released by Legacy Recordings. West Coast Seattle Boy — The Jimi Hendrix Anthology will include a five disc set of unheard studio tracks, alternate takes of songs as well as live recordings. This would be a great opportunity for the new generations to be introduced to a legend in rock music.

The album release comes at a time when everything vintage is the height of fashion, with young society turning not just to retro clothing but also to music, film and art, fully embracing the lifestyle of this movement.

The Hendrix album drops November 16th.

Leave a Reply

