Can.I.Rock.it?

The MessyNessyChic Supercool Sunday Playlist

In I heard... on October 3, 2010 at 10:10 am

Have a nice Sunday Messy Nessy readers x

Click here to play all songs automatically on the MessyNessyChic Youtube Playlist

1. Breakbot: Baby I’m Yours feat. Ifrane

I heard About This Song Because: Mr. OCD has just about the coolest house party playlist on the east side of London town.
Why I like It: I enjoy listening to men singing in high-pitched voices with a funky vibe

***

2. Phoenix- Lisztomania

I heard about this song because: I was checking up on the trusted band that gave me one of my all time favourite feel good songs, “If I Ever Feel Better”. You definitely need both songs on the Pod.

Why I like it: I like men singing in high pitched voices with an indie vibe.

***

3. Sia- You’ve Changed For the Better

I heard about this Song Because: Her first solo hit “The Girl You Lost To Cocaine” was just about my song of the summer (courtesy again of MR. OCD), so when I heard she had a knew album out, she had me at hello.
Why I like It: It get’s me in the mood for fun and I’m loving her vocal chords.

***

4. Aloe Blacc – I Need a Dollar

I heard about this song because: I got side tracked on youtube after my credit card got refused for an online shopping purchase.
Why I like it: I think he’s a modern day-sounding Marvin Gaye

***

5. The Ting Tings – Hands
I heard About This Song because: It kept playing in the fitting rooms of Topshop and I knew it had to be the Ting Tings.
Why I like it: We Love a bit of that 80s sound!

***

6. Matisyahu – King Without a Crown

I heard about this song because: JimMorrison used to play it to me in his car on the way or on the way home from a heavy night at the pub.
Why I like it: It reminds me of him and hangovers on a sunny morning.

***

7. Grace Potter and the Nocturnals- Paris (Ooh La La)

I heard about this song because: It came on the background of a television show and I googled some of the lyrics to find the song.

Why I Like It: It makes me feel like a badass chick

***

8. Nina Simone – My Baby Just Cares For Me

I heard about this song because: I listened to the Stealing Beauty Soundtrack circa 1996 on repeat.
Why I Like it: Because I think its one of the chicest songs ever made.

***

9. Dolly Parton – Jolene

I heard this song because: My mother used to play it in the car along with an entire country album compilation.

Why I Like it: It’s probably the coolest country song I know

***

10. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Jefferson Jerricho Blues

I heard about this song because: Their new album Mojo is climbing up the Billboard album charts.
Why I like it: Because you know it’s real blues.

***

11. Estrella Morente – Volver

I heard about this song because: Penelope Cruz lip-synched it in that beautiful Almodovar film, Volver.

Why I like it: Spanish music relaxes me.

***

12. Indeep (Mirage Remix) – Last Night A DJ Saved My Life

I heard about this song because: I was bored one night surfing through i-tunes, got lost and came across it.
Why I like it: The synth gets pretty funky on this sexy remix of an 80s classic.

***

13. The Grand Spectacular – Being a D**khead’s Cool

I heard about this song because: it became a bit of a phenomenon on Facebook last month.
Why I like it: Because I can buy it on itunes and it makes me smile when it plays on my iPod shuffle mode.

All songs are downloadable from itunes or go to the

Youtube MessyNessyChic Supercool Sunday Playlist and click the option to Play All

Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

