Can.I.Rock.it?

À la Rentrée! (Wish You Were Here)

In I am... on August 7, 2011 at 10:02 am

Paris has shut down. I’ve never actually witnessed a major city close up shop in such a way. Seletaped to the windows of Parisian shop fronts, cards written in large, over-excited shorthand all say the same thing; ‘À la rentrée‘– a French way of saying “We’re buggering off now, too bad if you needed to get your dry cleaning, see you when we re-enter the real world after our prolonged vacation”.

Even my Paris-based blog competitors have given in and put up temporary “gone on vacation” banners.

My local boulangerie closed for the entire month of August!

I may have some of that (slightly lazy) French blood in me, but as a Londoner, born and raised, where even those little obscure local boutiques– that forever make you wonder how they pay rent– don’t even close, I’ve gotta say that Paris in August is a little like living in the twilight zone.

But one must adapt to one’s surrounding culture, must they not?!

What I’m trying to get at here folks is that I’d quite like to bugger off myself. I think it’s time MessyNessyChic officially took a holiday.

When I finish writing this post, I’m going to start packing my suitcase and embrace a two week holiday of sun, sea and sangria.

This year there will be no tapping away at my laptop in the dark while the rest of the gang frollocks down at the beach; no clutching to an aerial on the roof so that I might catch a WIFI signal while my friends parasail off a speed boat in the distance.

I look forward to embracing my French ‘joie de vivre’ and hope I might be able to bring back some holiday snaps as impressive as these…

The Rock Restaurant, Tanzania

Riomaggiore, Italy

Navagio Beach, Zakynthos, Greece

Restaurant above the Chang Jiang river, Hubei , China.

Sri Lanka

Santorini, Greece

This is an untouched photograph: Tinted orange by the morning sun, a soaring dune is the backdrop for the hulks of camel thorn trees in Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia

Thailand

Meteora, Greece

Altiplano, South America

::::::

We Don’t Need No Education!

Posted July 27th, 2011 at 11.09am

Just kidding girls and boys. Stay in school. You’ll learn something there … one day.

(And technically “we don’t need no education” is a double negative, therefore, encouraging kids to stay at school. See what I did there).

Thinking back, I wasn’t such a bad kid.

Even when I was busy setting off the fire alarm and evacuating the entire school, partly to avoid a test and mostly to brighten up my morning (hey you can never have too many practice runs), somehow I still managed to come out with grades somewhere in the B range.

So what does that say about me? That I’m a slacker? (Probably/ definitely). That I’m a rebel in society? (I’d like to think so).

But here I am, several years later, writing weekly articles, some longer than many of the essays required of me at school. It makes me wonder…

It makes me wonder about people like Mr. Marsh, my seventh grade English teacher with his tobacco-stained beard and moss green velvet suits. He, who once threw a blazing fit (and a chair) because my buddy and I were doing our French homework in his class. Would he be proud of my blog? (Even if we did later get him fired.) Perhaps subscribe?

I found some scans of old exams with the kind of humorous responses that make me realize I was never alone in feeling school was just a little too serious for me. Although these students clearly hadn’t studied, they certainly did think out of the box. An easy-on-the-brain post for you guys today … enjoy!


Leave a Reply

