Can.I.Rock.it?

It’s my Blog and I’ll be Immature if I Want To

In I am... on September 13, 2011 at 10:07 am

I present to you what I like to call a ‘Peter Pan’ artist.

Inhae Renee Lee is amongst a new wave of creatives that seem to be using art to relive their childhood, perhaps in essence, an artist that never grew up.

She is the creator and author of “My milk toof”. A photo narrative of two baby teeth, ‘Ickle’ and ‘Lardee’ and their hilarious adventures. What began as prototypes for a toy then evolved into a photo blog (which went viral on the net thanks to a feature on ‘cuteoverload.com’**), and in 2011, resulted in a book deal for a collection of her favorite stories.

[**Yes, I’m subscribed to cuteoverload.com]

Lee says that the best part about her job is reading the comments from fans. “It’s like Christmas morning for me,” she says. “Readers tell me the blog provides a happy, nostalgic escape from their work, schooling, hardships, etc. I’m very humbled that My Milk Toof can help lift up someone’s day.”

Is it art? I won’t bother with that debate. But I will mention that Lee studied at the Arts and École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris; only the very same institution that gave us artists such as Degas and Delacroix.

What I find most amiable or rather, amusing about Lee’s work is the sheer dedication that goes into setting up each photograph for these farcical little subjects; toy milk teeth, ‘Ickle’ and ‘Lardee’.

“Each new story requires new props, sometimes new models, writing, storyboards, photography, and color editing, which can be very time consuming,” says Lee.

One has to stop and wonder what kind of psyche is behind such a project. To be honest, I’m not too sure it’s very far from my own…

And yes. I may be sucker for cute, miniature things.

But don’t pretend that deep inside, you aren’t too…

::

You can find the full narrated adventures of Ickle and Lardee on the wonderful little blog My Milk Toof. The book could make quite a cute little present too.

Go on, you know you want to.

Other ‘Peter Pan’ Artists you Might Like… 

:::

Mixing Fashion and Playmobil…

Sacha Goldberger

::::

  1. Great find Vanessa! These little guys are so cute!

Leave a Reply

